New Local Health Board Chief Executives appointed

The Chief Executives of the new Local Health Boards (LHBs) in Wales have been chosen.

Announcing the new appointments for the LHBs (which will be established in June and fully operational in October) NHS Wales Chief Executive Paul Williams said: “I am pleased to be able to announce the appointment of the new Chief Executives to lead the new LHBs in Wales at this exciting time.

“I believe that we have chosen people who have the skills and experience to deliver the organisational changes within the NHS, which will ultimately improve patient care and the working environment for staff.”

The new Chief Executives are:

Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University LHB – Mr. David Sissling

Mr Sissling worked in the Merchant Navy and industry before joining the NHS in 1993. In 1998 he became a Chief Executive of a major teaching hospital followed by Chief Executive posts at Health Authority and Strategic Health Authority level. He is currently Programme Director for Healthcare for London.

Aneurin Bevan LHB – Dr. Andrew Goodall

Dr Goodall has worked in the NHS in Wales since 1991. He was appointed Chief Executive to Neath Port Talbot LHB in 2005 and is currently leading Swansea, Neath Port Talbot and Bridgend LHBs as well as undertaking the role of Transition Director for Abertawe Bro Morgannwg health community.

Betsi Cadwaladr University LHB – Mrs. Mary Burrows MBE

Prior to joining the NHS in Wales as Chief Executive of North East Wales NHS Trust in 2007 Mrs Burrows worked in the USA, Saudi Arabia, England and Wales. Since 2007 Mrs Burrows has been Chief Executive of the North Wales NHS Trust and Transition Director for North Wales.

Cardiff and Vale University LHB – Mrs. Jan Williams OBE

Mrs Williams was appointed Chief Executive of Llanelli/Dinefwr NHS Trust in 1992. She became Chief Executive of West Glamorgan Health Authority/Iechyd Morgannwg Health Authority in 1996 and led Bro Taf Health Authority from 1999 to 2003. Since 2008 she has been Transition Director for Cardiff and Vale Healthcare Community.

Cwm Taf LHB – Mrs. Margaret Foster OBE

Mrs Foster was appointed Chief Executive of East Glamorgan NHS Trust in 1994. She led the organisation through several subsequent mergers until 2008 when she was appointed Chief Executive of Cwm Taf NHS Trust.

Hywel Dda LHB – Mr. Howard Waldner

Mr Waldner was appointed Chief Executive of Dundee Teaching Hospitals in 1991. In 1999 he moved to Canada and has held the posts of Executive Vice-President, Chief Operating Officer and President & Chief Operating Officer of a Health Region and a Health Authority.

Judith Paget, Chief Executive of the existing Powys LHB, will remain in her position.